About WildSeed

The evolution of WildSeed began in 2001 when songwriter and bassist Alan Bruce contacted his good friend, Didy Zenner, to sing on a few "demo tracks". Meanwhile, Didy's husband, Geoff, who had been working throughout NSW as a drummer and harmonica player decided to become involved in the project and the seed was well and truly planted. Almost immediately the three musicians started working on original material that would eventually form the foundation for future albums, singles and video clips.

After several years performing and recording with previous guitarists, Dave Bull and Andrew Parker, Didy, Alan and Geoff welcome the newest addition to the WildSeed family, the well credentialed, Jason Aquilina. Not only does Jason bring a wealth of live and recording experience to the band, he also carries with him a swag of tertiary qualifications from the Australian Institute of Music and the Sydney Conservatory. This unique talent is already influencing the direction and style of the ever evolving WildSeed.

In 2006 WildSeed released their debut self titled album. Various singles and video clips followed and extensive national airplay was well received by audiences and the music industry. Video clips The Fire, Don't Lie To Me and My Friend all achieved top fifty status on Foxtel's/Austar's Country Music Channel charts, with The Fire staying there for nine weeks.

The band's current album, The Speed of Light, released in 2009, contains fourteen original WildSeed tracks. The writing and recording of the songs took over a year and although the creative and unique musicianship of the band members is evident, additional instrumentation and musical contributions by session players Mick Albeck, Michel Rose and Mark Collins are featured throughout the CD. A video clip for the single The Speed of Light, directed by Ross Wood was released mid 2009 and successful radio singles, If I Only Had Time and So Complicated followed.

Some of WildSeed's achievements include: Winners in the National section of the 2010 Victorian and National Country Music Awards (instrumental), finalist in the 2010 MUSICOZ Awards for the Instrumental track Goose on the Loose. Several finals placing in various Tamworth award ceremonies including the People's Choice Awards, TIARA Awards, the Tamworth Songwriters Association as well as finalist positions in the Australian Songwriters Association annual competition and others.

In late 2012, Didy decided to amicably part ways with the band and was replaced by singer / songwriter Pete Vesperman. After a long absence from the scene, WildSeed are poised to once again entertain audiences with a slight direction chance.

WildSeed's original material has a unique Australian flavour yet still maintains the drive and power that excites their audience at festivals and venues around the country. Rich harmonies, hooky guitar licks and the textures and tones of the harmonica are fused with a suburban edginess while still remaining identifiably Country. Original songs are enhanced by interesting and clever arrangements. Strong melodies and lyrics plus an eclectic mix of rhythms and moods give a Sydney perspective to country music.

Sometimes a little to the left of the standard, fresh, vibrant with an Australian feel yet unmistakably Country, that's WildSeed.




| About | | Music | |Videos | | Pics | | Gigs | | Email Us |
Copyright 2014 WildSeed